Self-directed certificate-level curriculum · 60–90 min/day

Thirty days to certificate-level product mastery

Built from the syllabi of MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Kellogg, Cornell, Wharton, Reforge, Product School, Pragmatic and Maven — and pitched at a senior product leader who already has UX and discovery fluency. Every day has a job, sources, and a deliverable that feeds the capstone.

Program map · click any day
W1 · Foundations reset & discovery
W2 · Strategy, fit, growth, platforms
W3 · Metrics, money, systems, launch
W4 · AI, building, execution, leadership
Capstone · assemble & present
How to use this

Each day: lecture deck and companion handbook, the linked material, the exercise, a lab, a drill and an eight-item check (v2.1 structure — labs, drills and checks are being written from the research; samples show the shape). Days are sized to 60–90 minutes with long podcasts assumed at 1.25–1.5× speed. Tick items as you finish them; the day turns green when everything including the exercise is done. Notes save locally in this browser and can be exported as JSON from Progress Data to keep in ContextHop.

The exercises chain: the problem you pick on Day 7 becomes the strategy on Day 11, the metrics tree on Day 15, the system map on Day 17, the pricing model on Day 19, the launch plan on Day 20, the prototype and evals on Days 24–25 and the PR/FAQ on Day 28. Day 29–30 assemble it into the same kind of "Impact Project" MIT asks for.

What the certificates test, in one line each
MIT
platforms, product families, technology forecasting, agentic AI
Stanford
strategy, costing, product marketing, demand creation
Berkeley
value creation/capture, storytelling, AI co-pilot
Kellogg
vision to pricing to influence, gen-AI throughout
Cornell
hypotheses, OKRs, roadmap, prototype, analytics, PRD
Reforge
feature/growth/PMF-expansion strategy, 4D roadmaps, OKR loops
Product School
AI evals, RAG, agentic workflows, financials
Pragmatic
market problems, positioning, pricing, launch
Resource library · every link verified Sept 2026

Library

All videos, articles, books and free courses in the plan, plus "go deeper" material that didn't fit the daily budget. Filter by topic or type, or search.

Vocabulary · every term and acronym the course uses

Vocabulary

Every acronym carries a dotted underline wherever it appears — hover it and the expansion shows. This is the same set, browsable: the key terms defined on each of the sixty days, plus the acronym list. Each entry says which day teaches it, and clicking the day opens it.

Frameworks · what each one is, whose it is, and where it is taught

Frameworks

The named frameworks the programme teaches, in one place. Every row names the person it belongs to and the day that teaches it, so each is checkable against the lesson in one click rather than taken on trust. Where the field disagrees about a framework, the dispute is the entry.

Finance thread · reference handbook

Finance Primer

The finance a product leader is asked to do, in one place: market sizing, unit economics and the product-line P&L, the business case and investment memo, annual planning and internal funding, build/buy/partner, portfolio allocation, fundraising math. Each chapter carries the formulas, the template and the lab that uses it. Chapters are written by the author session from the finance build pack; the sample shows the shape.

Planned chapters
  • 1Market sizing
  • 2Unit economics and the product-line P&L
  • 3The business case: NPV, IRR, payback, cost of delay
  • 4Annual planning, headcount and opex, capitalised vs expensed development, the internal funding ask
  • 5Build / buy / partner
  • 6Portfolio allocation
  • 7Fundraising for founders
  • 8The ten metrics an executive expects a Director to know cold
Capability model · score, coverage, re-score

The 12 capabilities

Your 12 capabilities, each with its own level descriptors rather than one ladder shared by all twelve — level 1, 3 and 5 are written out per capability and 2 and 4 sit between them. Score the baseline on Day 1 with evidence; re-score on Day 30. Each row lists where the certificates examine it.

Capability scorecard · Day 1 baseline and Day 30
Average now:
Capability coverage · which days build each of the 12 capabilities
Mock interview log · two a week from Week 3

The external-feedback substitute. AI practice for the Sense and Analytical rounds, a peer mock for Leadership & Drive — the round where a person on the other side is the point, because depth under follow-up is what carries the level and a model will not push you the way a sceptical peer does. Log what you got wrong, not what went well: the log is only worth keeping if it is uncomfortable to read back.

Drill profile · per-dimension self-scores across the five rounds

Scored after each daily drill on Aced's four-point scale. This sits alongside the capability profile rather than inside it: capabilities are what you know, rounds are how you perform under questioning.

Impact Project · Days 29–30

Capstone and self-assessment

MIT's programme ends with an Impact Project presented to experts; Kellogg's with a full product plan; Product School's with a comprehensive AI product spec. Yours combines the three.

Capstone · 10 slides, the failure case, the presentation
What you walk away with · the evidence portfolio

Thirty artifacts for one real venture, each produced on its day and checked against a rubric. From them, the five-artifact portfolio your framework asks for:

Strategy
kernel, lockups, stack or portfolio recommendation
Judgment
opportunity tree, prioritisation decision, pre-mortem
Measurement
metrics tree, instrumentation plan, experiment brief
Execution and technology
system map, prototype, PRD, launch plan
Leadership
operating-model blueprint, executive memo, conflict case

Each with its context, problem, evidence, decision, tradeoff, contribution, outcome and learning.

Plus the ten-slide capstone deck, the recorded presentation, the failure case study, the manifesto, the Day 1 and Day 30 capability scores, thirty content angles with a publishing gate, and the material itself — decks, handbooks and a 163-item curated library you keep.

AI Product Build adds the fifteen-piece AI portfolio package: a functional prototype through three iterations, a golden dataset, rubric and scorecard, red-team findings, a risk register, an economics worksheet, an adoption plan, an AI portfolio strategy, a written case study and a recorded demo.

How you are assessed
Daily
Every exercise has a three-point rubric; a day is complete only when the deliverable passes it.
Weekly
Days 7, 11, 14, 21 and 25 are checkpoints that assemble the week's work; if it doesn't hold together, the week is revised before the next begins.
Capstone
Ten slides, a failure case, a fifteen-minute recorded presentation to two people who push back, and the Day 30 re-score against the Day 1 baseline.
Pass standard
  • All ten slides present and passing their rubrics
  • Day 30 capability scores average 4 or above with nothing below 3 and every score backed by an artifact
  • the presentation reviewed by two people whose notes you keep
  • five portfolio artifacts written up with narratives
  • at least one post per pillar through the gate
Content targeting system · publishing gate · pillar tracker

Content

Every day has an article or post angle. Draft it here, run the six-question gate before publishing, and keep the pillar allocation from drifting back to UX. The tracker compares what you've published against your target shares.

Balance · target share, angles ready, published
In flight
The queue · 60 briefs
Programme outcomes · what Product Thirty is built to produce

What you will learn, be able to prove, and be seen as

The page a certificate programme puts in front of you before you enrol. Read it as a promise and check it against what you want — if the two don't match, the plan changes, not the ambition.

The promise

The brand shift. At the end of the programme, a hiring manager, investor or board member reading your body of work no longer concludes "very senior UX leader who wants to move into Product." They conclude: enterprise product leader whose formal organisation happened to sit within UX — someone who understands customers, systems, business value, organisational complexity, measurement and product leadership, and turns that understanding into decisions and outcomes.

The means. Certificate-level knowledge across the full modern syllabus — strategy, economics, platforms, metrics, systems, launch, forecasting, AI-native building and leadership — benchmarked against MIT, Stanford, Kellogg, Cornell, Reforge and Product School, taught in thirty days of 60–90 minutes, and converted every day into an artifact, a content angle and an interview proof point.

The six signals this programme makes visible
Commercial and business ownership
Days 18–19, 12, 27
Product decision authority
Days 8–11, 26, 28
Delivery ownership
Days 15–16, 20, 24, 26
Technical fluency
Days 14, 17, 21, 23
Portfolio resource allocation
Day 27
PM talent leadership
Days 3, 27, 30 (coaching framework and hiring scorecard as extensions)

Existing strengths — customer understanding, experience strategy, journey thinking, executive storytelling, governance, coaching — are assumed and used, not re-taught.

Programme learning outcomes · by the end of Day 30 you will be able to
#OutcomeBuilt inWhere the certificates test it
1Define the product role by the risks you alone own, score yourself honestly on the 12 capabilities, and diagnose whether an organisation runs a product model or a feature factory.Days 1–3SVPG · Reforge Product Leadership · Product School PLC · MIT Course 1
2Run discovery that produces facts — Mom-Test interviews, jobs and forces, an opportunity solution tree — and turn it into a one-page problem charter with a beachhead and testable hypotheses.Days 4–7Stanford User Research · Kellogg M2 · Cornell C1 · Pragmatic Foundations · MIT Course 1
3Write a product strategy that survives Rumelt's test and operate it quarter to quarter with lockups, a strategy stack and non-goals a stakeholder can read.Days 8–11Stanford XPROD210 · Kellogg M1 · Reforge Product Strategy · Doshi
4Measure product-market fit, diagnose all four fits, design the growth loop, and position the product as pipeline, platform, aggregator or family with explicit governance.Days 12–14Reforge PMF Expansion · Kellogg M5 · MIT Courses 2–3
5Build a North Star metrics tree with an instrumentation plan, design a trustworthy experiment with a decision rule, and set retention targets against benchmarks.Days 15–16Cornell C5 · Product School M3/M5 · Reforge MPM
6Draw a system map of your product at C4 context and container level, name its failure points, and explain one product decision the architecture changed.Day 17Kellogg PC · CMU · (absent from most PM certificates)
7Price from willingness to pay, model unit economics in three scenarios including AI cost per completed task, and defend the pricing model in a memo.Days 18–19Pragmatic Price · Kellogg M6 · Stanford XPROD120 · PS PLC M4
8Plan a launch as adoption and learning: positioning, readiness, enablement, monitoring, rollback and ownership.Day 20Pragmatic Launch · Product School M6 · Kellogg M5
9Forecast a technology cost driver with learning curves and map a value chain with Wardley mapping.Day 21MIT Course 4 (nowhere else)
10Map where AI belongs in a workflow, choose an agent pattern and autonomy level deliberately, catalogue failure modes, build a working prototype, and specify it with a golden set, rubric, guardrails and kill criterion.Days 22–25Product School AI PMC · Reforge AI Evals & Prototyping · Maven · MIT Course 5
11Turn strategy into execution — outcome roadmap, PRD, a documented prioritisation decision — and lead across a portfolio: allocate money, design the operating model, write the executive memo, resolve a stakeholder conflict.Days 26–28Cornell C3/C6 · Kellogg M4/M8 · SVPG TRANSFORMED · PS PLC
12Present the whole plan in fifteen minutes to people who argue, write an honest failure case, re-score the 12 capabilities, and publish a Product Leadership Manifesto.Days 29–30MIT Impact Project · Kellogg M12 · your evidence portfolio
The band this scores against · L5–L7

The Meta scale is the reference the interview world actually uses, and the Day 30 re-rating places you inside it. L3 and L4 are named so the scale is legible — they are below the band this programme is aimed at, not levels you are being scored on. Level numbers do not map cleanly onto any one company's titles: do not read L6 as "Director" everywhere.

LevelScopeStrategy / executionLadder equivalent
L3Feature level — reference only~10 / 90below the band
L4Problem level; runs a pod ("launch to the EU") — reference onlybelow the band
L5Team level; owns the team's roadmap; typical at about five years~40 / 60Senior PM
L6Org level; a full pillar; thinks like a GM. External hires often need 7+ years~60 / 40Principal
L7Company level; finds the problems. External hires rare~80 / 20Senior Principal · Director-IC
What actually signals your level
  • The scope of the prompt you can hold — "build onboarding for Airbnb experiences" sits below senior; "what should Airbnb build?" is senior and above
  • the strategy portion of a product-sense answer, which is where the density is
  • depth across three to five behavioural follow-ups on one story — depth under follow-up, not opening structure
  • the scope of the problems you chose to tell stories about, and whether you identified them or were handed them

Reported readings of how companies interview, attributed to their publishers, not market fact. Day 28 teaches the dimensions; Day 30 re-rates against them.

What this programme cannot ensure

Stated here rather than in a footnote, because a promise page that only lists what you gain is a sales page. These are evidence problems, not knowledge problems — no amount of reading closes them.

A people-management track record
Thirty days of individual artefacts is not evidence of managing product managers.
Actual P&L ownership
You will model unit economics and defend a price. You will not have owned a line.
Multi-team dependency management at scale
Simulated portfolios do not carry the friction that makes this hard.

In Miller's terms all three sit at does. This programme's highest rung is shows-how.

The split: IC Director-equivalent, not M5 Director

This is built for the IC Director-equivalent — investment cases, strategic narratives, a simulated portfolio, a public point of view. Horowitz's product manager, doing a leadership job with nobody reporting to them, is that shape exactly.

GitLab's M5 people-leader Director is a different job. The published handbook has a Director typically managing four to six direct reports including Product Managers and Group Managers, owning section-level KPIs and business outcomes, and elevating PM culture by developing decision-makers, storytellers and outcome drivers. Developing people is talent work and it is definitional to that rung.

That job is untouched by this course, not merely unverified by it. So capability 12 cannot honestly rise to Director on IC artefacts alone — the manifesto may take positions about how you would lead, and positions are not a track record. One caveat on the source: GitLab is one company's ladder, published in unusual detail. It is not "the market".

Does this match what you want? · check the promise against your intent

Tick what's true. Anything unticked is a conversation about changing the plan.

Saved with your progress. Revisit on Day 14 and Day 30.

Market scan · official pages, verified 3 September 2026

What the certificate programs actually teach

Nineteen programs, academic and industry. Every price, duration and load was re-checked against the provider's own page on 3 September 2026; "not stated" means the page didn't say — nothing here is guessed. Five entries changed at that check: CMU tuition, the Pragmatic path structure, the Doshi course title, the Nika weekly load and the IBM hour count.

Competencies nearly every program covers
  • Customer discovery and needs-finding
  • product vision and strategy
  • roadmapping and prioritization
  • go-to-market and launch
  • stakeholder communication and influence

These are the table stakes; this plan treats them as Week 1 + Day 27–28.

Where programs differ (and where this plan spends its time)
  • Pricing and financials (Stanford, Kellogg, Pragmatic, Product School PLC)
  • platforms and ecosystems (MIT, Kellogg M13)
  • technology forecasting (MIT only)
  • AI evals, agents and guardrails (Product School, Reforge, Maven — absent from most academic certs)
  • product operating model (SVPG, Reforge)

Weeks 2–4 are built around exactly these gaps.

Page review · online.professionalprogramsmit.com

MIT Professional Certificate in Product Management

A read of the landing page you sent, cross-checked against the MIT Professional Education catalog entry.

Tuition
$15,950
from professional.mit.edu; the landing page shows "View Payment Plan" and a $1,000 referral
Length
9–12 mo
5 sequential courses; weekly hours not stated
Next start
Sep 29
2026 · English, Spanish, Portuguese
Credential
41.4 CEU
Certificate of Completion, ceremony in Cambridge

What it is

MIT Professional Education content, delivered and sold by Global Alumni (the URL you have is their funnel, with a Google Ads tracking string attached). Five courses run in sequence, with an "Impact Project" you carry from course 1 to a final presentation to experts.

The five courses

  • Designing Scalable Solutions — user needs, stakeholder mapping, value propositions, problem–solution fit, prototyping, journeys, business model, pitching. (DesignX: Gronfeldt, Rosenzweig)
  • Designing Product Families — platforming, product/platform architecture, governance, two-sided markets. (de Weck, Simpson, Cameron)
  • Digital Platforms — industry platforms, ecosystems, APIs, robustness, partner growth, platform dynamics. (Cusumano-adjacent territory)
  • Forecasting Technology Innovation — trend evaluation, forecasting and mechanistic models, portfolio optimization. (Trancik)
  • Applied Agentic AI for Organizational Transformation — gen/agentic AI foundations, agent integration, risk and disinformation, governance, capstone. (Sanchez, Williams)

Where it is strong

Three of its five courses cover material almost no other PM certificate touches: product-family and platform architecture, two-sided-market design, and quantitative technology forecasting. The faculty are the actual researchers behind those fields (de Weck on system architecture, Trancik on technology learning curves, Cameron on platform strategy). The Impact Project format forces you to apply each course to one real problem, which is the right pedagogy.

Where it is thin for you

It is a systems-engineering school's view of product management. Course 1 is a design-thinking refresher you could teach. There is no dedicated module on metrics and experimentation, growth, pricing beyond a learning-outcome bullet, roadmaps and PRDs, or product leadership — the things Stanford, Kellogg, Reforge and Product School spend most of their time on. The AI course is framed as organizational transformation rather than building AI products (no evals, no agent design patterns). And $15,950 over 9–12 months is roughly five Stanford or Berkeley certificates.

Read: worth it if you specifically want the MIT platform-architecture and forecasting lens plus the credential and alumni network. Not worth it if the goal is to operate at the level the market calls "senior PM / head of product" — that level is reachable from the open material in this plan, and the remaining gap is practice, not access.
How this plan maps to the five MIT courses
Course 1 · Scalable SolutionsDays 1–7
Course 2 · Product FamiliesDay 14 (+ deeper links)
Course 3 · Digital PlatformsDay 14, Day 9 (aggregators)
Course 4 · ForecastingDay 21
Course 5 · Agentic AIDays 22–25 (+ AI Product Build)
Impact ProjectDays 7, 11, 15, 19, 25, 28 → 29–30
What this plan adds that MIT doesn't
  • Product strategy proper (Rumelt, Helmer, Biddle)
  • PMF and growth loops
  • North Star, experimentation and instrumentation
  • systems fluency
  • pricing, packaging and unit economics
  • launch and adoption
  • a working prototype with evals
  • roadmaps, PRDs and PR/FAQ
  • portfolio allocation and operating-model design
  • executive influence
How it compares · an honest equivalence
Breadth
Covers the union of the MIT, Stanford, Kellogg, Cornell, Reforge and Product School syllabi plus systems fluency, launch, portfolio allocation and leadership, which most certificates skip; no single programme covers all twelve outcomes.
Depth
Equal to the industry programmes on strategy, growth, metrics, pricing and AI. Lighter than MIT on platform-architecture and forecasting rigour — one day each — and the go-deeper links carry the difference.
What you don't get
A credential, CEUs, a cohort, instructor feedback and an alumni network. The feedback gap is real; the two-reviewer presentation and the publishing gate are the substitutes.
Cost
Zero versus $2,600–$15,950; roughly 45 hours versus 36 (Stanford) to 200+ (MIT).
How to talk about it

Lead with the artifacts, not the programme.
"Here is the strategy kernel I wrote for my venture and the pricing decision it led to" is worth more than any credential named. The programme is the answer to "how did you build that capability".

Résumé / LinkedIn line.
"Completed a self-directed, certificate-level product leadership programme (30 days, ~45 hrs) benchmarked against MIT, Stanford, Kellogg and Reforge; produced a full product strategy, pricing model, system map, launch plan and AI product specification with evals for [venture]."

What not to claim.
Not a certificate, not affiliated with any institution, no third-party assessment. Claim the work, not the badge.

With a board.
The capstone deck is the board narrative: charter, strategy, position, metrics, economics, forecast, AI plan, roadmap.

Progress data

Export, import, reset

Progress lives in this browser. Copy the JSON below into a file (e.g. product-thirty-progress.json) in ContextHop; paste it back here on another device to restore. The shape is flat and stable, so it will drop into a database later without a migration.

Version history

Schema (version 3): { version, startDate, items: {"d7:ex": true}, notes: {"d7": "…"}, rubric0/rubric: {"cap4": 3}, rubEv0/rubEv: {"cap4": "…"}, probes, prio: [4,9,10], extRev0: {"4": {who, on, v, saw}}, mocks: [{on, round, with, missed, again}], cap, intent, posts, quiz, drills }. Item keys are d<day>:<index> for resources and d<day>:ex for the exercise. prio holds the three priority capabilities starred on Day 1 and extRev0 the external read on each; both are advisory and neither is averaged into a score. Version 2 exports import unchanged — the three new keys default to empty.